October Newsletter

Introduction to my projects

Hello everyone!

I can’t believe it’s October already. I feels like September went way too fast.

I’d thought I’d start by introducing you all to my different writing projects.

At the moment, I have quite a few projects going on, but they can be divided into three main categories.

Light Turned to Darkness (Working title)

Light Turned to Darkness is the first writing project I ever started and the first and only full-length novel I’ve finished. It’s a middle grade fantasy novel about a girl who has the ability to control the element of light. She attends Mirithia Academy, the best school in the country for elementals (people who can control the different elements of air, fire, water, earth, and light). While she’s there she must solve an intriguing mystery and learn to accept her newly discovered Autism.

Right now, I’m about to start the editing stage of the writing process.

The Grimmspire Chronicles

I have always loved fairy tales, the originals, retellings, movies, everything. So, of course, the second thing I ever wrote was a fairy tale retelling novelette. I ended up loving the characters and world of this story, Thawed - A Snow Queen Retelling, so much that I had to write more. So far I have written/am writing three novelettes in this world.

Fun Note: There is a reason I named it The Grimmspire Chronicles, not just because I thought it sounded cool. Can you guess? The Brothers Grimm are some of the most famous, if not the most famous fairy tale authors. They wrote many of the original stories, including Rapunzel, Cinderella, and Snow White.

Trapped - A Rapunzel Retelling

I’m having a ton of fun writing this story and am at about 6,500 words which is about a third of the way done.

Thawed - A Snow Queen Retelling

This is the first story I have gone through the entire writing process with, outlining, writing, editing, all of it. I’m really happy with it and it is almost ready to be shared!

Cursed - A Beauty and the Beast Retelling.

I haven’t looked at this story in over a month because, like Light Turned to Darkness, I’m “letting it rest”. I’m just about ready to start editing.

The Phoenix Pendant

And finally, my last project. I have been outlining this story on and off for some time. It’s a YA fantasy novel, but that’s all I can say for know, nothing’s set in stone. This is the first story I've really put effort into outlining so it’s taking a bit longer than normal, but it’ll be worth it in the long run. Well outlined stories generally have much less outlining to be done later in the process.

Thank you so much for reading!

I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit more about my writing projects. Feel free to leave me a comment on my website that corresponds with The Introverted Writer. I would love to hear from you!

If you know anyone else who would be interested in reading, please let them know.

Have a great week and happy fall!

See you next month,

Abby Henderson

Reply

or to participate.